Goodreads Monday: 11/01/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello and happy Monday.

I have been stuck writing an assignment all day and I must admit I will be happy when this essay is done and dusted as writing about ancient Roman funeral rites is getting rather depressing.

Anyway, enough of that, it is time to choose another book off my TBR list. This week I have gone for a book that has been on my TBR list since 2015 but has just recently come back on my radar so I plan on reading it this year all being well.

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey tells the story behind Highclere Castle, the real-life inspiration and setting for Julian Fellowes’s Emmy Award-winning PBS show Downton Abbey, and the life of one of its most famous inhabitants, Lady Almina, the 5th Countess of Carnarvon. Drawing on a rich store of materials from the archives of Highclere Castle, including diaries, letters, and photographs, the current Lady Carnarvon has written a transporting story of this fabled home on the brink of war.
    Much like her Masterpiece Classic counterpart, Lady Cora Crawley, Lady Almina was the daughter of a wealthy industrialist, Alfred de Rothschild, who married his daughter off at a young age, her dowry serving as the crucial link in the effort to preserve the Earl of Carnarvon’s ancestral home.  Throwing open the doors of Highclere Castle to tend to the wounded of World War I, Lady Almina distinguished herself as a brave and remarkable woman.
    This rich tale contrasts the splendor of Edwardian life in a great house against the backdrop of the First World War and offers an inspiring and revealing picture of the woman at the center of the history of Highclere Castle.

I read Christmas at Highclere by Lady Carnarvon just before Christmas 2020 and absolutely loved the book and really liked Lady Carnarvon’s writing style so I am excited to read this book.

Please drop me a comment if you want a chat.

Goodreads Monday: 4/01/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

Time for my first Goodreads Monday of 2021. First, I will be honest my TBR pile is huge so it is always a tricky decision which book to choose. I’ve seen some fab reviews of my chosen book so I definitely plan on reading it this year.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Now I will be honest I am not keen on TV programmes or films that do the whole repeating time thing, so I will wait and see whether I will enjoy reading something with the same storyline.

So that is my Goodreads Monday. Please drop me a comment if you have also taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

Goodreads Monday: 28/09/2020

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

 

This is the first time I have taken part in Goodreads Monday so here is a book I have chosen at random off my TBR list.

1883876D-C9ED-4E35-81D6-E6A6E7F59C55_4_5005_c

The Doll Factory, the debut novel by Elizabeth Macneal, is an intoxicating story of art, obsession and possession.

London. 1850. The Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and among the crowd watching the spectacle two people meet. For Iris, an aspiring artist, it is the encounter of a moment – forgotten seconds later, but for Silas, a collector entranced by the strange and beautiful, that meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly her world begins to expand, to become a place of art and love.

But Silas has only thought of one thing since their meeting, and his obsession is darkening . . .

 

Drop me a comment if you have read it and drop me a link with your Goodreads Monday and I will check out your post.

fullsizeoutput_f5f