Goodreads Monday: 12/04/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Happy Monday!

I hope everyone has had a good start to the week so far.

My chosen book this week is one that I have recently bought and I am very excited to read it.

Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.
Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family’s sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt’s promises of eternal glory. For years she’s pushed away any thought of revenge against the man–now a god–responsible for their deaths.

Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods.

The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore’s decision to bind her fate to Athena’s and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost–and still may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees. 

I’m really looking forward to this book because I love the blurb and it just sounds like my type of read. I also love anything to do with the Greek Gods.

Please drop me a comment if you have also taken part in Goodreads Monday or you have read this book, I love a chat.

Happy Reading

Goodreads Monday: 29/03/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Happy Monday!

I am actually teaching this morning, I don’t usually teach on a Monday, so this will make a nice change and it will be good to see one of my students that I haven’t seen for ages, even if it is only on Zoom.

My chosen book to feature today is actually the first book of a series that one of my friends recommended to me and one that I promptly bought but have not got around to reading but I hope to soon.

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Probationary Constable Peter Grant dreams of being a detective in London’s Metropolitan Police. Too bad his superior plans to assign him to the Case Progression Unit, where the biggest threat he’ll face is a paper cut. But Peter’s prospects change in the aftermath of a puzzling murder, when he gains exclusive information from an eyewitness who happens to be a ghost. Peter’s ability to speak with the lingering dead brings him to the attention of Detective Chief Inspector Thomas Nightingale, who investigates crimes involving magic and other manifestations of the uncanny. Now, as a wave of brutal and bizarre murders engulfs the city, Peter is plunged into a world where gods and goddesses mingle with mortals and a long-dead evil is making a comeback on a rising tide of magic.

Please drop me a comment if you have read this book or the series, I would love to hear your thoughts. Plus please drop a link to your Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

Goodreads Monday: 22/03/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Happy Monday!

I hope everyone has had a good start to the week so far.

The book I have chosen for Goodreads Monday is one that I have recently bought and and is now sat on my TBR pile.

So here is the book…

The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie’s first Tommy & Tuppence book is a thrill-packed novel of international intrigue, murder and suspense.

Tommy and Tuppence, two young people short of money and restless for excitement, embark on a daring business scheme – Young Adventurers Ltd.

Their advertisement says they are ‘willing to do anything, go anywhere’. But their first assignment, for the sinister Mr Whittington, plunges them into more danger than they ever imagined…

I am trying to read all of the works of Agatha Christie in order of publication and this is the next one on the list. Hopefully, I will read it soon as I am rather excited to read my first Tommy and Tuppence book.

Please drop me a comment if you have taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading

Goodreads Monday: 22/02/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

The book I have chosen today has been sat on my TBR pile for a very long time. I actually got the second book in the series in a Goodreads competition and then immediately bought the first in the series and they have been on the pile ever since.

So here is the book…

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

“I was born for killing – the gods made me to ruin”

At the Convent of Sweet Mercy young girls are raised to be killers. In a few the old bloods show, gifting talents rarely seen since the tribes beached their ships on Abeth. Sweet Mercy hones its novices’ skills to deadly effect: it takes ten years to educate a Red Sister in the ways of blade and fist.

But even the mistresses of sword and shadow don’t truly understand what they have purchased when Nona Grey is brought to their halls as a bloodstained child of eight, falsely accused of murder: guilty of worse.

Hopefully I will read the series this year.

Please drop me a comment if you have taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

Goodreads Monday: 15/02/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

Happy Monday my fellow Book Dragons!

There are so many books on my TBR to choose from so I have gone for a book that I have recently bought and hope to read soon.

The Betrayals by Bridget Collins

In an exclusive institution tucked away in the mountains the best and brightest study an arcane and mysterious game, as they have for centuries. But times are changing, and traditions being overturned – the truth will come out…

Amazon | Book Depository | Foyles | Waterstones | Wordery

I’ve read so many good things about this book so I am really looking forward to reading it soon.

Please drop me a comment if you have read the book or have taken part in Goodreads Monday.

Happy Reading.

(All purchases made using one of the above affiliate links gives a small percentage of money to myself with no extra cost to yourself. All proceeds go towards the upkeep of this blog. Thank you ever so much, your support is gratefully received.)

Goodreads Monday: 11/01/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello and happy Monday.

I have been stuck writing an assignment all day and I must admit I will be happy when this essay is done and dusted as writing about ancient Roman funeral rites is getting rather depressing.

Anyway, enough of that, it is time to choose another book off my TBR list. This week I have gone for a book that has been on my TBR list since 2015 but has just recently come back on my radar so I plan on reading it this year all being well.

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey tells the story behind Highclere Castle, the real-life inspiration and setting for Julian Fellowes’s Emmy Award-winning PBS show Downton Abbey, and the life of one of its most famous inhabitants, Lady Almina, the 5th Countess of Carnarvon. Drawing on a rich store of materials from the archives of Highclere Castle, including diaries, letters, and photographs, the current Lady Carnarvon has written a transporting story of this fabled home on the brink of war.
    Much like her Masterpiece Classic counterpart, Lady Cora Crawley, Lady Almina was the daughter of a wealthy industrialist, Alfred de Rothschild, who married his daughter off at a young age, her dowry serving as the crucial link in the effort to preserve the Earl of Carnarvon’s ancestral home.  Throwing open the doors of Highclere Castle to tend to the wounded of World War I, Lady Almina distinguished herself as a brave and remarkable woman.
    This rich tale contrasts the splendor of Edwardian life in a great house against the backdrop of the First World War and offers an inspiring and revealing picture of the woman at the center of the history of Highclere Castle.

I read Christmas at Highclere by Lady Carnarvon just before Christmas 2020 and absolutely loved the book and really liked Lady Carnarvon’s writing style so I am excited to read this book.

Please drop me a comment if you want a chat.

Goodreads Monday: 4/01/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

Time for my first Goodreads Monday of 2021. First, I will be honest my TBR pile is huge so it is always a tricky decision which book to choose. I’ve seen some fab reviews of my chosen book so I definitely plan on reading it this year.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Now I will be honest I am not keen on TV programmes or films that do the whole repeating time thing, so I will wait and see whether I will enjoy reading something with the same storyline.

So that is my Goodreads Monday. Please drop me a comment if you have also taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

Goodreads Monday: 28/09/2020

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

 

This is the first time I have taken part in Goodreads Monday so here is a book I have chosen at random off my TBR list.

1883876D-C9ED-4E35-81D6-E6A6E7F59C55_4_5005_c

The Doll Factory, the debut novel by Elizabeth Macneal, is an intoxicating story of art, obsession and possession.

London. 1850. The Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and among the crowd watching the spectacle two people meet. For Iris, an aspiring artist, it is the encounter of a moment – forgotten seconds later, but for Silas, a collector entranced by the strange and beautiful, that meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly her world begins to expand, to become a place of art and love.

But Silas has only thought of one thing since their meeting, and his obsession is darkening . . .

 

Drop me a comment if you have read it and drop me a link with your Goodreads Monday and I will check out your post.

fullsizeoutput_f5f