Goodreads Monday: 22/02/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

The book I have chosen today has been sat on my TBR pile for a very long time. I actually got the second book in the series in a Goodreads competition and then immediately bought the first in the series and they have been on the pile ever since.

So here is the book…

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

“I was born for killing – the gods made me to ruin”

At the Convent of Sweet Mercy young girls are raised to be killers. In a few the old bloods show, gifting talents rarely seen since the tribes beached their ships on Abeth. Sweet Mercy hones its novices’ skills to deadly effect: it takes ten years to educate a Red Sister in the ways of blade and fist.

But even the mistresses of sword and shadow don’t truly understand what they have purchased when Nona Grey is brought to their halls as a bloodstained child of eight, falsely accused of murder: guilty of worse.

Hopefully I will read the series this year.

Please drop me a comment if you have taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

Goodreads Monday: 15/02/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

Happy Monday my fellow Book Dragons!

There are so many books on my TBR to choose from so I have gone for a book that I have recently bought and hope to read soon.

The Betrayals by Bridget Collins

In an exclusive institution tucked away in the mountains the best and brightest study an arcane and mysterious game, as they have for centuries. But times are changing, and traditions being overturned – the truth will come out…

Amazon | Book Depository | Foyles | Waterstones | Wordery

I’ve read so many good things about this book so I am really looking forward to reading it soon.

Please drop me a comment if you have read the book or have taken part in Goodreads Monday.

Happy Reading.

(All purchases made using one of the above affiliate links gives a small percentage of money to myself with no extra cost to yourself. All proceeds go towards the upkeep of this blog. Thank you ever so much, your support is gratefully received.)

Goodreads Monday: 4/01/2021

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

Hello!

Time for my first Goodreads Monday of 2021. First, I will be honest my TBR pile is huge so it is always a tricky decision which book to choose. I’ve seen some fab reviews of my chosen book so I definitely plan on reading it this year.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Now I will be honest I am not keen on TV programmes or films that do the whole repeating time thing, so I will wait and see whether I will enjoy reading something with the same storyline.

So that is my Goodreads Monday. Please drop me a comment if you have also taken part in Goodreads Monday and I will head over for a visit.

Happy Reading.

WWW Wednesday: 15/04/2020

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The rules are answer the questions below and a share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you will read next?

 

Hello!

I’m back again for another WWW Wednesday, I don’t think I have ever done so many in a row before. It is great getting all this reading in.

So here we go…

 

What I am currently reading

The Carpet People I had for a Christmas present and I decided that I needed some Pratchett during Lockdown to distract me. The Iliad is a translation I haven’t read before by Barry Powell and I quoted this version in an essay a while back and liked what Powell had done with the text so I decided to have a read.

 

What did I recently finish

Did really well last week but I will be honest that I could not put down Half a World Away it was brilliant. Review links below

Star Trek Picard

Half A World Away

The Secret life Cows

 

What I think I will read next

I’m finding this tricky at the moment, I’m changing my mind what to read almost daily and it is depending very much on my mood. I’ve given myself quite a few options above but that could all change again so watch this space.

So there it is another WWW Wednesday in April. Please drop me a comment with your WWW Wednesday link because I love visiting your blogs to see what you are up to. Also please leave a comment if you have read any of the books above. Is anybody else finding it hard to pin down what to read next or is it just me?

Thanks for stopping by.

Happy Reading.

lady book dragon signature 250w

Book Trolley

Hello!

Yesterday was an interesting day. The weather led to flooding so I couldn’t get to work in the morning so I had the whole day free. I felt a little lost to be honest but I got loads of washing done, some clarinet practice, studying and I built my book trolley!

I’ve seen so many book trollies on social media lately and I gave in and got one for myself. This now means my TBR is not on the bedroom floor but neatly in the trolley. Also the wheels are brilliant, it means I can roll the trolley around to vacuum under it.

So here is the wonderful trolley.

 

I’m now hoping my husband will also get one so we can both have our TBR piles neat and tidy.

Please let me know if you have a book trolley and what you use it for? I would love to hear what books you use it for.

Happy Reading!

lady book dragon signature 250w